Novels · Reviews · Teen Fiction

Review: Caraval

Hello everyone, happy Monday! Today I’m going to be posting my review on Stephanie Garber’s Caraval.

Well, I expected more from this, and I feel like a lot of people did.

Caraval

Caraval by: Stephanie Garber: Scarlett Dragna has never left her tiny island, always craving to go and see Caraval, as a chance to escape. Her dreams are now coming true, going to visit with her sister Tella, things take a drastic turn when Tella is kidnapped as soon as they get there. Finding out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, the only way to win is to be the first to find her. The writing was well done, and it was enjoyable to read, but there was a lack in plot that left the reader not really satisfied. As much as the writing was well done, the novel was filled with a lot of fluff and purple prose. The plot had a great concept, but it wasn’t executed in the best way. It felt like so many things could have been explored like characters and getting more in-depth with the plot. Garber’s characters were alright; they were somewhat original, but a little forgettable. Their development was written well, but it wasn’t enough to make the characters relatable or memorable. The ending eludes to another novel to hopefully explore a little more.

7 thoughts on “Review: Caraval

  1. I completely agree! I expected better from this book. The purple prose killed me. Since I’m not a visual reader, all the imagery turned me off the book instead of getting me more interested. I kept putting off reading it until it was due back to the library.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lack of development issues are such a bummer… So much potential, wasted. I’ve been hearing that complaint a lot when it comes to this book and that’s part of the reason I haven’t reached out for it yet, I think. Too many mixed feelings!
    Loved reading your review, Meghan 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

