Fiction · Novels · Reviews

Review: The Lucky One

Hi guys! Happy throwback Thursday! It’s still Thursday! Today has gone by so fast, I’ve been so busy I’m glad it’s the end of the day! Today I’m going to be looking at Nicholas Sparks’ novel The Lucky One.

Read: September 2010
Rating: 3 Stars

The Lucky One

The Lucky One by: Nicholas Sparks: Logan Thibault is on a mission: to find the woman in the photograph. Claiming she has been his lucky charm through his time in the military, he feels he owes her something. Finally meeting her, he starts to work for her grandmother, unknown of Beth’s past, Clayton. Clayton is her jealous ex-husband who makes things difficult for Beth. When he finds out about Thibault, things get messy, throw in a summer storm and it’s a recipe for disaster. This novel was well written, and well executed; the characters were well developed, even if they did grind the reader’s gears. The fact that characters were irrational gave the story a plot; the plot was solid throughout the novel making it hard to put down. The constant flow of developing plots was engaging, engrossing the reader in each chapter, especially as the reader got to the end. Clayton is a problematic character, who has views that can leave the reader not wanting to continue, but overall, it’s well put together, even if characters can be incredibly hard to read.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Lucky One

  1. I own this book, but I haven’t read it yet. I went through a Nicholas Sparks phase shortly after The Notebook came out, but I haven’t picked one up in so long. I did see the movie though, and that’s what made me think I’d like it. Was the movie a close adaptation?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I went on one too years ago, but my reviews of all the books are horrible so I’m going back to read them all.
      I’d say it’s close but I haven’t seen the movie in a while. For some reason I remember they left something not really huge but enough to notice the difference, out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

