Children's Fiction · Novels · Reviews

Review: The Cursed Child

Hi guys! Happy Monday, today I’m going to be reviewing The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne.

I have to say that I wasn’t a fan of this. I think they should have left the story alone because they tried to make it something it wasn’t, and they tried to please all the readers, but by doing that it just crushed the story.

The Cursed Child
The Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne: It’s nineteen years later and Harry and his friends have grown up, got married and had kids. Albus, Harry’s second son is off to Hogwarts for the first time, but unlike Harry, he doesn’t care for it. Harry and Albus have a constant struggle before all hell breaks loose, running away to try and rewrite the past. This novel was like every version of the future Rowling could come up with, which is supposed to satisfy the reader, and any diehard fan of the original series, but it just comes off as really unnecessary. Dealing with time travel, the novel goes back and forth between different realms and ‘what if’ situations. Sure it was great to revisit and see old characters again, but this time it felt like it should have been left alone. There definitely were great character developments through both Albus and Scorpius and Albus and Harry, which was nice to read, but the plot was just too overplayed and quite frankly boring; who wants to read about ‘what if’ situations? Also, the whole Voldemort plotline was strange; this whole novel was strange, it had its good, and its bad, but for the most part it feels like it was created for nostalgia’s sake.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Cursed Child

  1. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews for this book. I guess when you go back and try to carry on the Harry Potter series it was always going to be a bit hit or miss. I actually really enjoyed this one but I managed to see the play before picking up the screenplay which I think helped a lot. I loved Scorpius’s character, and the development of Draco and Harry and Albus’s relationship was really good as well.
    Great review Meghan, I’m sorry this one didn;t live up to your expectations for it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review, Meghan! I read this aaaages ago and would 100% agree with what you said – it’s kinda boring and didn’t really work for me as a story. I enjoyed the Scorpios/Albus friendship but I just wasn’t that into the book as a whole. I’m sure the play is amazing, though. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Reg! 🙂 yeah it’s been almost two months since I read this… I’m really behind on my reviews.. ops! 😛 But I agree, it didn’t work as a story because it jumped around a lot, but same as you I enjoyed the friendship between Scorpios and Albus; they were so cute!
      Oh I can only imagine how amazing it is as a play!

      Like

Leave a Reply

