Novels · Reviews · Teen Fiction

Review: Blackbird & Deadfall

Hi guys! Happy New Year! Welcome 2017! I hope you all had a safe and happy New Years! ✨ I’m kicking off the New Year with a review of Blackbird and its sequel Deadfall by Anna Carey.

So last month I just kind of gave up on posting reviews since I had a back log of tags to do (and I still have some!) so now I have loads of reviews that are just eagerly waiting to be shared. I feel kind of bad starting the year off with a not so good review, but that only means things will get better!


Blackbird
Blackbird

Blackbird by: Anna Carey: When a young girl wakes up in the middle of the train tracks, not remembering a single thing she makes it her mission to find out everything she can, including her name and who she is. Meeting people along the way, people she thinks she can trust, turns into a complete lie. This novel, told in the second person, definitely makes for a different reading experience. The point of view is supposed to make the reader feel more connected to the plot, and the main character, but it just leaves the reader feeling more disjointed from the story, and not really interested. The reader is the main character and so it feels like we learn nothing about her. Her character doesn’t develop at all, and she doesn’t learn much about herself, in fact she learns more about what has happened to her then about herself. The way the novel just ends makes the reader hope that more will be reviled in the next novel. The different point of view is what sets this novel apart from any novel.

Deadfall
Deadfall

Deadfall by: Anna Carey: The sequel to Carey’s novel Blackbird, our main character is on the run once more. Leaving Los Angeles, she heads to New York to fight the war against the people who are after her. She’s all caught between the person she is becoming, and the person she used to be. Like the first novel, this one was also in second person point of view, which didn’t make it feel more personal or more connected to the main character. If anything it made the reader feel disconnected, plus it got tiring to read that ‘you’ were rushing through the streets. The novel was action packed and that made it feel fast-paced and quick to read. The author tried to throw in a love triangle plot line that just didn’t fit; it was supposed to develop characters, especially the main one, but it felt forced. This novel had its moments of great writing, but for the most part just didn’t do very much to wow readers.

7 thoughts on “Review: Blackbird & Deadfall

  1. Yikes, I probably will never pick these books up. I hate it when characters don’t develop, especially main characters. That AND an unnecessary love triangle? I think I’ll pass. I love the mini reviews! Short and to the point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shouni! 🙂 I don’t know if I’m glad that I helped you stay away from reading something you wouldn’t have liked, or sad that I didn’t let you give the book a chance yourself, but I am glad that you liked my reviews! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

