Novels · Reviews · Teen Fiction

Review: The Wrath & The Dawn Series

Hello lovely followers, welcome to Monday! Today I’m going to be reviewing the first two books in Renée Ahdieh’s series The Wrath & The Dawn, and The Rose & the Dagger.

I feel good today, and one of those reasons is that I’m finally caught up with everyone’s blog posts. Took me all week, but I did it! I am going to try and not let that happen again.

Now onwards to my reviews! 🙂

dsc_8459

The Wrath and the Dawn by: Renée Ahdieh: Khalid is the young Caliph of Khorsan. Every night he takes a different wife, and then he murders her. When Shahrzad’s best friend gets taken, she volunteers herself to be his next wife. By doing this she hopes to end the vicious cycle of the murder of defenseless women. Filled with stories, soon Shadrzad starts to fall for him. Although this plot was unoriginal and done before, which made it a little boring, what made it really good was the diversity of the characters, and the fact that the novel was filled with stories and tales that enhance the plot. The points of view changed a bit throughout the novel, switching from third to first, and even though it’s clearly marked when it changes, it just felt abrupt, and at times not even needed. The characters were good, a little predictable, but they developed throughout the novel, making the novel move as things moved pretty quickly, and the novel was fast-paced, which made for pleasant reading.

dsc_8482The Rose & The Dagger by: Renée Ahdieh: Reunited with her family after being taken to be with the Caliph of Khorasan, Shahrzad must choose between the two. Her family is very opposed of her love of Khalid, and of his beliefs. Shahrzad must use the magic inside her to figure out how to end the war, and stay with her true love. The novel had its twists and turns, but nothing was as shocking as the ending. It was so fast-paced, yet the finality of it was so well done. The depth Ahdieh makes the reader feel for her characters is strong and so well done. Not all her characters were the strongest, but most of them were so well crafted that it made for some incredible storytelling, which is what this novel is focused around. The storytelling was done very effectively; like the first novel it kept the reader engaged in the story. Plots did get lost and a little tedious but the stories helped to keep things on track and livened things up.

 

7 thoughts on “Review: The Wrath & The Dawn Series

  1. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed this series! TWATD is one of my favourite reads from last year because the writing style was just beautiful (and I’m a sucker for the whole arranged marriage trope), but TRATD was a little less engaging for me. I agree that the characters are very well-crafted, and definitely the highlight of the duology. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so good! I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, I do have to say the whole arranged marriage trope I feel like I’ve read that a lot this year and I just got bored of it. But for the most part these books were very well put together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

