Books · Non-Fiction · Reviews

Review: Lean In

Hello lovely people! Today I’m going to be reviewing Sheryl Sandberg’s book Lean In.

Okay so before I get into anything, first I want to point out that my review is a little more positive than I actually thought the book was. The reason for that being I thought she had some good points about young women working their way to be successful, and her talk about equality. The rest of it didn’t do anything for me. Next I want to point out that a co-worker (who is a man) thought this would be the perfect book for me, and I strongly disagree because it’s a been a while since a book has made me so angry.

Why did it make me angry? Well first off the book is about women becoming leaders, and great I’m happy that women want to be leaders, I am all for this, but that doesn’t mean every single one of us wants to be a leader. I’m sorry if my goal in life is not to be the CEO of a big Fortune 500 company. She almost made me feel ashamed for not wanting this, and that the reason for men leading the world is because women don’t want to be leaders. Like really?

Second, women staying home to raise children, according to her that baaaaad. We should strive to go back to work as soon as the child is born. She took a three month maternity leave, and then went back to work. Who’s watching your child lady? Definitely not your husband who takes a freakin’ plane to get to work. I’m sorry we can’t all afford nannies. I’m also not sorry that I want to stay to home with a baby I just gave birth to for longer than three months. You know the CEO of Yahoo only took two weeks off. What did she do, have her baby then send it off somewhere?

I think this book is for the woman who doesn’t want children, just saying, even though she mentions having a career with children in every goddamn chapter, not relatable to me as a 22-year-old, at all.

Okay my rant is over, I needed to get that off my chest; now to my more positive review.

Lean In

Lean In by: Sheryl Sandberg: This book looks at both women and men in the work place, and at home, yet mostly women. Sandberg is the COO of Facebook, and she goes on to tell her tale of not exactly how she got to where she is, but a close enough story. The book explores how women can become who they want to be, with the help from their partners. It also talks about how men can be the caregivers at home. The book goes into heavy detail about how women can do both, have the career, and motherhood. It’s a little off-putting how long she goes on about this because it doesn’t cater to all readers, but to her credit she does get minds thinking about all of life’s challenges. What she really does do well is tying in equality for both genders, that it’s not only women who still need to make a place for themselves, but men do as well. Men still need to find their spot as a caregiver at home. It was an interesting read, that definitely gives some good advice. Near the end it got a little boring to read, but for the most part it started and stayed quite strong; the writing was a mix of more factual information than personal stories, that she would tie into her own life. This book was a little guide into succeeding in life.

Leave a Reply

