Novels · Reviews · Teen Fiction

Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend

Happy Wednesday my fellow followers! I hope the week is treating you well. Today I’m going to be talking about Kasie West’s novel The Fill-In Boyfriend.

Before I continue, I need to mention that this is my first novel of hers that I’ve read. As much as it was cute, I don’t know it didn’t satisfy me like I thought it would.

The Fill-In Boyfriend
The Fill-In Boyfriend

The Fill-In Boyfriend by: Kasie West: Gia has waited for this moment for months, going to prom with her boyfriend Bradley, who none of her friends believe is real; only Bradley breaks up with her in the parking lot before going in. Unsure of what to do she begs a boy to pretend to be Bradley without even finding out his name. Back and forth this new guy has become the fill-in Bradley, that is until the truth comes out. This novel had its highs and its lows. First off the plot felt like it was straight out of a girl’s diary, like it was her fantasy or day dream, meeting the perfect boy. It was a very predictable plot with how everything was going to end, even though West tried to deflect what the outcome would be. What was really well done was the growing of characters, mostly Gia; as much as the characters were cliché, there was some good development. It was also good to see that the plot wasn’t just centered around a boy, but around a girl trying to figure out who her real friends are; that is what made the novel enjoyable.

 

7 thoughts on “Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend

    1. I think it all depends on what you like reading. I wouldn’t recommend it to someone who likes thicker plots. If you’re into light and fluffy contemporaries then this will be a nice read, even though it’s completely predictable.
      I hope this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

